When there is too much on your plate.. and you want it all

Sometimes life is overwhelming.

You put too much on your plate because you don’t know how to say no. That used to be me.

But now, I am okay with saying no if I want. Time, experience, and a little maturity (at least that’s what I hope) has made me a little firmer, a little meaner, and a little stronger.

That is fabulous, but what about the 90% of times that I don’t know what I myself want?

It’s funny. All these people and articles say, don’t waste time doing things you don’t enjoy; spend your time doing what you love. I couldn’t agree more. But, what if I fall in love with one of the items on my to-do list? Right now it glares at me from the yellow sticky note like another assignment I have to tackle, stressing me out. But what if when I give it a chance  it becomes something I start enjoying?

So with that thought, I’ll add that item onto my plate. And the other tempting club. Oh, and what about that project? It might turn out to be delicious.  And the other curious looking organization that doesn’t look so appealing, but hey, I’ve heard it tastes amazing once you develop a taste for it. And that dessert… so what if I hate mousse, as long as it is chocolate, I’ll take it even though it might give me a stomach ache.

And all of a sudden, I have a plate that is overflowing with a mountain of things to work on. By the time I try half of it I am so tired that I can’t do anything more, or I don’t succeed in finding anything I actually enjoy–which even if I did, I am so saturated with all the commitments that I can’t be dedicated to that one item. You know when you taste everything in a buffet to find out what you really want to eat, and you are stuffed before you get the chance to finally eat what you liked best? (That happens to everyone, right?)

And that’s what my life is like currently. I think I might have too much on my plate. And yet, there are still a couple of things that I have kept in the pipeline and am just about to add as well. So how do I decide what to remove and what to keep? Why aren’t there enough hours in the day? How can I remove something that holds promise, without giving it a chance?

And that, dear readers, is the problem of the indecisive creature, both in terms of life and food.

Leave a Reply

